The Spinoza of Market Street and Other Stories

By Isaac Bashevis Singer

Original Publisher: Farrar, Straus and Cudahy

Current Publisher: Farrar, Straus and Giroux

Fiction Finalists That Year:

Fiction Winner That Year: Walker Percy for The Moviegoer

Fiction Judges That Year: Lewis Gannett, Herbert Gold, Jean Stafford

The Year in Literature:

  • The Edge of Sadness by Edwin O'Connor won the Pulitzer Prize for fiction.
  • John Steinbeck won the Nobel Prize for literature. 

More Information: Singer won the National Book Award twice: in 1970 for A Day of Pleasure: Stories of a Boy Growing Up in Warsaw (Children’s Books) and in 1974 for A Crown of Feathers and Other Stories (Fiction). He was also a Finalist three more times: in 1965 for Short Friday (Fiction), in 1967 for In My Father’s Court (Arts and Letters), and in 1973 for Enemies, A Love Story (Fiction).


PrintView Printer Friendly Version

EmailEmail Article to Friend

Reader Comments (1)

I read the 'Spinoza of Market Street' a few years ago and loved it - would thoroughly recommend.
August 2, 2012 | Unregistered CommenterPatent Agent
Comments for this entry have been disabled. Additional comments may not be added to this entry at this time.
« 1962 | Main | 1962 »