Franny and Zooey

By J.D. Salinger

Original Publisher: Little, Brown & Co.

Current Publisher: Back Bay Books

Fiction Finalists That Year:

Fiction Winner That Year: Walker Percy for The Moviegoer

Fiction Judges That Year: Lewis Gannett, Herbert Gold, Jean Stafford

The Year in Literature:

  • The Edge of Sadness by Edwin O'Connor won the Pulitzer Prize for fiction.
  • John Steinbeck won the Nobel Prize for literature. 

More Information: Salinger never won the National Book Award, but he was a Fiction Finalist once previously, in 1952 for The Catcher in the Rye.

PrintView Printer Friendly Version

EmailEmail Article to Friend

« 1962 | Main | 1962 »