The House of Five Talents

By Louis Auchincloss

Original Publisher: Houghton Mifflin

Current Publisher: Out of Print

Fiction Finalists That Year:

Fiction Winner That Year: Conrad Richter for The Waters of Kronos

Fiction Judges That Year: B.J. Chute, Robert M. Coates, Arthur Mizener

The Year in Literature: 

  • To Kill a Mockingbird by Harper Lee won the Pulitzer Prize for fiction.
  • Ivo Andric won the Nobel Prize for literature.

More Information: Auchincloss was a Fiction Finalist three more times: in 1960 for Pursuit of the Prodigal, in 1965 for The Rector of Justin, and in 1967 for The Embezzler.

PrintView Printer Friendly Version

EmailEmail Article to Friend

« 1961 | Main | 1960 »