To Kill a Mockingbird

By Harper Lee

Original Publisher: Lippincott

Current Publisher: HarperCollins

Fiction Finalists That Year:

Fiction Winner That Year: Conrad Richter for The Waters of Kronos

Fiction Judges That Year: B.J. Chute, Robert M. Coates, Arthur Mizener

The Year in Literature: 

  • To Kill a Mockingbird by Harper Lee won the Pulitzer Prize for fiction.
  • Ivo Andric won the Nobel Prize for literature.

More Information: To Kill a Mockingbird is Lee’s only book. Though she began work on a second novel and a nonfiction book, she hasn’t finished either.

PrintView Printer Friendly Version

EmailEmail Article to Friend

« 1961 | Main | 1961 »