A Separate Peace

By John Knowles

Original Publisher: Macmillan

Current Publisher: Scribner

Fiction Finalists That Year:

Fiction Winner That Year: Conrad Richter for The Waters of Kronos

Fiction Judges That Year: B.J. Chute, Robert M. Coates, Arthur Mizener

The Year in Literature: 

  • To Kill a Mockingbird by Harper Lee won the Pulitzer Prize for fiction.
  • Ivo Andric won the Nobel Prize for literature.

More Information: A Separate Peace is based on Knowles’ experiences as a student at Phillips Exeter Academy in Exeter, New Hampshire in the early 1940s.

PrintView Printer Friendly Version

EmailEmail Article to Friend

« 1961 | Main | 1961 »