Generation Without Farewell

By Kay Boyle

Original Publisher: Alfred A. Knopf

Current Publisher: Out of Print

Fiction Finalists That Year:

Fiction Winner That Year: Conrad Richter for The Waters of Kronos

Fiction Judges That Year: B.J. Chute, Robert M. Coates, Arthur Mizener

The Year in Literature: 

  • To Kill a Mockingbird by Harper Lee won the Pulitzer Prize for fiction.
  • Ivo Andric won the Nobel Prize for literature.

More Information:

  • Boyle published more than forty books, including novels, poetry collections, short story collections, children’s books, and French-to-English translations.
  • As a result of early 1950s McCarthyism, Boyle lost her position as foreign correspondent for The New Yorker, and was blacklisted by most major magazines. After that, Boyle became increasingly active politically, speaking out against the Vietnam War and working with groups such as Amnesty International and the NAACP.  

PrintView Printer Friendly Version

EmailEmail Article to Friend

« 1961 | Main | 1961 »