Pursuit of the Prodigal

By Louis Auchincloss

Original Publisher: Houghton Mifflin

Current Publisher: Out of Print

Fiction Finalists That Year:

Fiction Winner That Year: Philip Roth for Goodbye, Columbus

Fiction Judges That Year: Kay Boyle, Brendan Gill, Alexander Laing, William Peden, Charles J. Rolo

The Year in Literature:

  • Advise and Consent by Allen Drury won the Pulitzer Prize for fiction.
  • Saint-John Perse won the Nobel Prize for literature. 

More Information: Auchincloss was a Fiction Finalist three more times: in 1961 for The House of Five Talents, in 1965 for The Rector of Justin, and in 1967 for The Embezzler.

PrintView Printer Friendly Version

EmailEmail Article to Friend

« 1960 | Main | 1959 »