The Pistol

By James Jones

Original Publisher: Charles Scribners & Sons, Inc.

Current Publisher: University of Chicago Press; Open Road Integrated Media (ebook)

Fiction Finalists That Year:

Fiction Winner That Year: Philip Roth for Goodbye, Columbus

Fiction Judges That Year: Kay Boyle, Brendan Gill, Alexander Laing, William Peden, Charles J. Rolo

The Year in Literature:

  • Advise and Consent by Allen Drury won the Pulitzer Prize for fiction.
  • Saint-John Perse won the Nobel Prize for literature. 

More Information: Jones won the National Book Award for Fiction in 1952 for From Here to Eternity.



PrintView Printer Friendly Version

EmailEmail Article to Friend

« 1960 | Main | 1960 »