The Cave

By Robert Penn Warren

Original Publisher: Random House

Current Publisher: University Press of Kentucky

Fiction Finalists That Year:

Fiction Winner That Year: Philip Roth for Goodbye, Columbus

Fiction Judges That Year: Kay Boyle, Brendan Gill, Alexander Laing, William Peden, Charles J. Rolo

The Year in Literature:

  • Advise and Consent by Allen Drury won the Pulitzer Prize for fiction.
  • Saint-John Perse won the Nobel Prize for literature. 

More Information: Warren won the National Book Award for Poetry in 1958 for Promises: Poems, 1954-1956 and was a Finalist three more times: in 1956 for Band of Angels (Fiction), in 1957 for Segregation (Nonfiction), and in 1981 for Being Here (Poetry).


PrintView Printer Friendly Version

EmailEmail Article to Friend

« 1960 | Main | 1960 »