Monday, June 4, 2012 at 11:37PM
National Book Foundation

The Haunting of Hill House

By Shirley Jackson

Original Publisher: Viking Press

Current Publisher: Penguin Classics

Fiction Finalists That Year:

Fiction Winner That Year: Philip Roth for Goodbye, Columbus

Fiction Judges That Year: Kay Boyle, Brendan Gill, Alexander Laing, William Peden, Charles J. Rolo

The Year in Literature:

More Information: The Haunting of Hill House was made adapted to film twice: in 1963 and in 1999, both times under the title “The Haunting.” The earlier film is widely considered to be more faithful to the book and received more critical praise.

Article originally appeared on National Book Award Fiction Finalists (http://nbafictionfinalists.squarespace.com/).
See website for complete article licensing information.