The Devil’s Advocate

By Morris West

Original Publisher: William Morrow & Co.

Current Publisher: Loyola Classics

Fiction Finalists That Year:

Fiction Winner That Year: Philip Roth for Goodbye, Columbus

Fiction Judges That Year: Kay Boyle, Brendan Gill, Alexander Laing, William Peden, Charles J. Rolo

The Year in Literature:

  • Advise and Consent by Allen Drury won the Pulitzer Prize for fiction.
  • Saint-John Perse won the Nobel Prize for literature. 

More Information:

  • West was born and spent much of his life in Australia.
  • Before becoming a writer, West spent twelve years in a monastery of the Christian Brothers. Upon leaving the monastery in 1941, he enlisted in the Royal Australian Air Force.
  • In addition to twenty-seven novels, West also produced several radio serials and plays and published four nonfiction books.
  • West died at his desk while working on his novel The Last Confession, which was published posthumously in 2000.

PrintView Printer Friendly Version

EmailEmail Article to Friend

« 1961 | Main | 1960 »