The Mansion

By William Faulkner

Original Publisher: Random House

Current Publisher: Vintage International

Fiction Finalists That Year:

Fiction Winner That Year: Philip Roth for Goodbye, Columbus

Fiction Judges That Year: Kay Boyle, Brendan Gill, Alexander Laing, William Peden, Charles J. Rolo

The Year in Literature:

  • Advise and Consent by Allen Drury won the Pulitzer Prize for fiction.
  • Saint-John Perse won the Nobel Prize for literature. 

More Information: Faulkner won the National Book Award for Fiction in 1951 for his Collected Stories and again in 1955 for A Fable. He was also a Fiction Finalist in 1952 for Requiem for a Nun.


PrintView Printer Friendly Version

EmailEmail Article to Friend

« 1960 | Main | 1960 »