The Winthrop Woman

By Anya Seton

Original Publisher: Hodder and Stoughton

Current Publisher: Chicago Review Press

Fiction Finalists That Year: 

Fiction Winner That Year: Bernard Malamud for The Magic Barrel

Fiction Judges That Year: John MacKenzie Cory, Ralph Ellison, Harry Hansen, Alfred Kazin, Alice Morris

The Year in Literature:

  • The Travels of Jaimie McPheeters by Robert Lewis Taylor won the Pulitzer Prize for fiction.
  • Salvatore Quasimodo won the Nobel Prize for literature. 
Other Information:
  • Anya Seton was the pen name of Ann Seton.
  • The Winthrop Woman is based on the story of Elizabeth Fones, niece and daughter-in-law of John Winthrop, the first governor of the Massachusetts Bay Colony. 

PrintView Printer Friendly Version

EmailEmail Article to Friend

« 1959 | Main | 1959 »