Atlas Shrugged

By Ayn Rand

Original Publisher: Random House

Current Publisher: Plume

Fiction Finalists That Year:

Fiction Winner That Year: John Cheever for The Wapshot Chronicle

Fiction Judges That Year: Van Wyck Brooks, Albert J. Guerard, Mrs. William W. Johnson, William Maxwell, Francis Steegmuller

The Year in Literature:

  • A Death in the Family by the late James Agee also won the Pulitzer Prize for fiction.
  • Boris Pasternak won the Nobel Prize for literature.

More Information: Atlas Shrugged was Rand’s fourth and final novel. At more than 1,000 pages, it was also her longest. 

PrintView Printer Friendly Version

EmailEmail Article to Friend

« 1958 | Main | 1958 »