The Velvet Horn

By Andrew Lytle

Original Publisher: McDowell, Obolensky

Current Publisher: Out of Print

Fiction Finalists That Year:

Fiction Winner That Year: John Cheever for The Wapshot Chronicle

Fiction Judges That Year: Van Wyck Brooks, Albert J. Guerard, Mrs. William W. Johnson, William Maxwell, Francis Steegmuller

The Year in Literature:

  • A Death in the Family by the late James Agee also won the Pulitzer Prize for fiction.
  • Boris Pasternak won the Nobel Prize for literature.

More Information: Lytle was a member of the Southern Agrarians, a group of twelve American writers including National Book Award Winners John Crowe Ransom and Robert Penn Warren and Finalist Allen Tate.

PrintView Printer Friendly Version

EmailEmail Article to Friend

« 1958 | Main | 1958 »