Monday, June 4, 2012 at 9:19PM
National Book Foundation

A Walk on the Wild Side

By Nelson Algren

Original Publisher: Farrar, Straus & Cudahy

Current Publisher: Farrar, Straus and Giroux

Fiction Finalists That Year: 

Fiction Winner That Year: Wright Morris for The Field of Vision

Fiction Judges That Year: Robert Gorham Davis, Leslie Fiedler, Oliver LaFarge, W.G. Rogers, Peter Taylor

The Year in Literature:

More Information: Algren was the very first National Book Award Winner for Fiction in 1950 for The Man with the Golden Arm.

Links: www.nbafictionblog.org/nba-winning-books-blog/2009/6/18/1950.html

Article originally appeared on National Book Award Fiction Finalists (http://nbafictionfinalists.squarespace.com/).
See website for complete article licensing information.