A Walk on the Wild Side

By Nelson Algren

Original Publisher: Farrar, Straus & Cudahy

Current Publisher: Farrar, Straus and Giroux

Fiction Finalists That Year: 

Fiction Winner That Year: Wright Morris for The Field of Vision

Fiction Judges That Year: Robert Gorham Davis, Leslie Fiedler, Oliver LaFarge, W.G. Rogers, Peter Taylor

The Year in Literature:

  • The Pulitzer Prize was not given for fiction.
  • Albert Camus won the Nobel Prize for literature.

More Information: Algren was the very first National Book Award Winner for Fiction in 1950 for The Man with the Golden Arm.


PrintView Printer Friendly Version

EmailEmail Article to Friend

« 1957 | Main | 1956 »