Monday, June 4, 2012 at 9:40PM
National Book Foundation

The Voice at the Back Door

By Elizabeth Spencer

Original Publisher: McGraw-Hill Book Company, Inc.

Current Publisher: Louisiana State University Press 

Fiction Finalists That Year: 

Fiction Winner That Year: Wright Morris for The Field of Vision

Fiction Judges That Year: Robert Gorham Davis, Leslie Fiedler, Oliver LaFarge, W.G. Rogers, Peter Taylor

The Year in Literature:

More Information: In 1957, the Pulitzer Prize fiction jury recommended that Spencer be awarded the prize for The Voice at the Back Door, but the Pulitzer board did not announce a winner that year.

Links: www.elizabethspencerwriter.com

Article originally appeared on National Book Award Fiction Finalists (http://nbafictionfinalists.squarespace.com/).
See website for complete article licensing information.