The Voice at the Back Door

By Elizabeth Spencer

Original Publisher: McGraw-Hill Book Company, Inc.

Current Publisher: Louisiana State University Press 

Fiction Finalists That Year: 

Fiction Winner That Year: Wright Morris for The Field of Vision

Fiction Judges That Year: Robert Gorham Davis, Leslie Fiedler, Oliver LaFarge, W.G. Rogers, Peter Taylor

The Year in Literature:

  • The Pulitzer Prize was not given for fiction.
  • Albert Camus won the Nobel Prize for literature.

More Information: In 1957, the Pulitzer Prize fiction jury recommended that Spencer be awarded the prize for The Voice at the Back Door, but the Pulitzer board did not announce a winner that year.


PrintView Printer Friendly Version

EmailEmail Article to Friend

« 1957 | Main | 1957 »