The Last Hurrah

By Edwin O’Connor

Original Publisher: Little Brown & Co.

Current Publisher: Back Bay Books

Fiction Finalists That Year: 

Fiction Winner That Year: Wright Morris for The Field of Vision

Fiction Judges That Year: Robert Gorham Davis, Leslie Fiedler, Oliver LaFarge, W.G. Rogers, Peter Taylor

The Year in Literature:

  • The Pulitzer Prize was not given for fiction.
  • Albert Camus won the Nobel Prize for literature.

More Information:

  • O’Connor coined the term “last hurrah.”
  • The Last Hurrah was made into a film of the same title directed by John Ford and starring Spencer Tracy.

PrintView Printer Friendly Version

EmailEmail Article to Friend

« 1957 | Main | 1957 »