By B.J. Chute

Original Publisher: E.P. Dutton & Company, Inc.

Current Publisher: Green Mansion Press

Fiction Finalists That Year: 

Fiction Winner That Year: Wright Morris for The Field of Vision

Fiction Judges That Year: Robert Gorham Davis, Leslie Fiedler, Oliver LaFarge, W.G. Rogers, Peter Taylor

The Year in Literature:

  • The Pulitzer Prize was not given for fiction.
  • Albert Camus won the Nobel Prize for literature.

More Information:

  • Chute was born Beatrice Joy Chute but preferred to be called Joy.
  • Greenwillow was adapted into a Broadway musical of the same title in 1960.

PrintView Printer Friendly Version

EmailEmail Article to Friend

« 1957 | Main | 1957 »