Seize the Day

By Saul Bellow

Original Publisher: Viking Press

Current Publisher: Penguin Classics

Fiction Finalists That Year: 

Fiction Winner That Year: Wright Morris for The Field of Vision

Fiction Judges That Year: Robert Gorham Davis, Leslie Fiedler, Oliver LaFarge, W.G. Rogers, Peter Taylor

The Year in Literature:

  • The Pulitzer Prize was not given for fiction.
  • Albert Camus won the Nobel Prize for literature.

More Information: Bellow won the National Book Award for Fiction three times: in 1954 for The Adventures of Augie March, in 1965 for Herzog, and in 1971 for Mr. Sammler’s Planet. He was also a Fiction Finalist twice more: in 1960 for Henderson the Rain King and in 1976 for Humboldt's Gift. In 1990, Bellow received the Foundation’s Medal for Distinguished Contribution to American Letters.


PrintView Printer Friendly Version

EmailEmail Article to Friend

« 1957 | Main | 1957 »