Giovanni’s Room

By James Baldwin

Original Publisher: Dial Press

Current Publisher: Delta

Fiction Finalists That Year: 

Fiction Winner That Year: Wright Morris for The Field of Vision

Fiction Judges That Year: Robert Gorham Davis, Leslie Fiedler, Oliver LaFarge, W.G. Rogers, Peter Taylor

The Year in Literature:

  • The Pulitzer Prize was not given for fiction.
  • Albert Camus won the Nobel Prize for literature.

More Information: Baldwin was a Finalist three more times: in 1962 for Nobody Knows My Name (Nonfiction), in 1964 for The Fire Next Time (Nonfiction), and in 1980 for Just Above My Head (Fiction, Hardcover).

PrintView Printer Friendly Version

EmailEmail Article to Friend

« 1957 | Main | 1957 »