Monday, June 4, 2012 at 8:54PM
National Book Foundation

The Spider’s House

By Paul Bowles

Original Publisher: Random House

Current Publisher: Harper Perennial

Fiction Finalists That Year:

Fiction Winner That Year: John O’Hara for Ten North Frederick

Fiction Judges That Year: Carlos Baker, John Brooks, Granville Hicks, Saunders Redding, Mark Schorer

The Year in Literature:

More Information: Bowles was a novelist, short story writer, poet, and translator, as well as a prolific composer who wrote music for numerous plays, operas, and ballets.

Article originally appeared on National Book Award Fiction Finalists (http://nbafictionfinalists.squarespace.com/).
See website for complete article licensing information.