The Spider’s House

By Paul Bowles

Original Publisher: Random House

Current Publisher: Harper Perennial

Fiction Finalists That Year:

Fiction Winner That Year: John O’Hara for Ten North Frederick

Fiction Judges That Year: Carlos Baker, John Brooks, Granville Hicks, Saunders Redding, Mark Schorer

The Year in Literature:

  • Andersonville by MacKinlay Kantor won the Pulitzer Prize for fiction.
  • Juan Ramón Jiménez won the Nobel Prize for literature.

More Information: Bowles was a novelist, short story writer, poet, and translator, as well as a prolific composer who wrote music for numerous plays, operas, and ballets.

PrintView Printer Friendly Version

EmailEmail Article to Friend

« 1956 | Main | 1955 »