Monday, June 4, 2012 at 9:06PM
National Book Foundation

Band of Angels

By Robert Penn Warren

Original Publisher: Random House

Current Publisher: Louisiana State University Press

Fiction Finalists That Year:

Fiction Winner That Year: John O’Hara for Ten North Frederick

Fiction Judges That Year: Carlos Baker, John Brooks, Granville Hicks, Saunders Redding, Mark Schorer

The Year in Literature:

More Information: Warren won the National Book Award for Poetry in 1958 for Promises: Poems, 1954-1956 and was a Finalist three more times: in 1957 for Segregation (Nonfiction), in 1960 for The Cave (Fiction), and in 1981 for Being Here (Poetry).

Links: nbapoetryblog.squarespace.com/journal/2011/2/24/1958.html

Article originally appeared on National Book Award Fiction Finalists (http://nbafictionfinalists.squarespace.com/).
See website for complete article licensing information.