Band of Angels

By Robert Penn Warren

Original Publisher: Random House

Current Publisher: Louisiana State University Press

Fiction Finalists That Year:

Fiction Winner That Year: John O’Hara for Ten North Frederick

Fiction Judges That Year: Carlos Baker, John Brooks, Granville Hicks, Saunders Redding, Mark Schorer

The Year in Literature:

  • Andersonville by MacKinlay Kantor won the Pulitzer Prize for fiction.
  • Juan Ramón Jiménez won the Nobel Prize for literature.

More Information: Warren won the National Book Award for Poetry in 1958 for Promises: Poems, 1954-1956 and was a Finalist three more times: in 1957 for Segregation (Nonfiction), in 1960 for The Cave (Fiction), and in 1981 for Being Here (Poetry).


PrintView Printer Friendly Version

EmailEmail Article to Friend

« 1956 | Main | 1956 »