Faithful Are the Wounds

By May Sarton

Original Publisher: Rinehart & Company, Inc.

Current Publisher: W.W. Norton & Company

Fiction Finalists That Year:

Fiction Winner That Year: John O’Hara for Ten North Frederick

Fiction Judges That Year: Carlos Baker, John Brooks, Granville Hicks, Saunders Redding, Mark Schorer

The Year in Literature:

  • Andersonville by MacKinlay Kantor won the Pulitzer Prize for fiction.
  • Juan Ramón Jiménez won the Nobel Prize for literature.

More Information: Sarton was a Finalist three other times: in 1953 for A Shower of Summer Days (Fiction) and twice in 1958 for The Birth of a Grandfather (Fiction) and In Time Like Air (Poetry).

PrintView Printer Friendly Version

EmailEmail Article to Friend

« 1956 | Main | 1956 »