Monday, June 4, 2012 at 8:57PM
National Book Foundation

The Black Prince

By Shirley Ann Grau

Original Publisher: Alfred A. Knopf

Current Publisher: Out of Print

Fiction Finalists That Year:

Fiction Winner That Year: John O’Hara for Ten North Frederick

Fiction Judges That Year: Carlos Baker, John Brooks, Granville Hicks, Saunders Redding, Mark Schorer

The Year in Literature:

More Information: This was Grau’s only National Book Award nomination, but she won the Pulitzer Prize for fiction in 1965 for her novel The Keepers of the House.

Article originally appeared on National Book Award Fiction Finalists (http://nbafictionfinalists.squarespace.com/).
See website for complete article licensing information.