The Dollmaker

By Harriette Arnow

Original Publisher: The Macmillan Company

Current Publisher: Scribner

Fiction Finalists That Year:

Fiction Winner That Year: William Faulkner for A Fable

Fiction Judges That Year: Malcolm Cowley, Paul Engle, Elizabeth Janeway, Wallace Stegner, Robert Penn Warren

The Year in Literature: 

  • A Fable also won the Pulitzer Prize for fiction.
  • Halldór Laxness won the Nobel Prize for literature.

More Information: In the afterword of the 1971 Crown Publishers edition, Joyce Carol Oates writes, “There are certainly greater novels than The Dollmaker, but I can think of none that have moved me more, personally, terrifyingly, involving me in the solid fact of life’s criminal exploitation of those who live it—not hard, not sentimental, not at all intellectually ambitious, The Dollmaker is one of those excellent American works that have yet to be properly assessed.”

PrintView Printer Friendly Version

EmailEmail Article to Friend

« 1955 | Main | 1954 »