Monday, June 4, 2012 at 8:52PM
National Book Foundation

Sweet Thursday

By John Steinbeck

Original Publisher: Viking Press

Current Publisher: Penguin Classics

Fiction Finalists That Year:

Fiction Winner That Year: William Faulkner for A Fable

Fiction Judges That Year: Malcolm Cowley, Paul Engle, Elizabeth Janeway, Wallace Stegner, Robert Penn Warren

The Year in Literature: 

More Information: Steinbeck was a Fiction Finalist one other time, in 1953 for East of Eden. He never won the National Book Award.

Article originally appeared on National Book Award Fiction Finalists (http://nbafictionfinalists.squarespace.com/).
See website for complete article licensing information.