Sweet Thursday

By John Steinbeck

Original Publisher: Viking Press

Current Publisher: Penguin Classics

Fiction Finalists That Year:

Fiction Winner That Year: William Faulkner for A Fable

Fiction Judges That Year: Malcolm Cowley, Paul Engle, Elizabeth Janeway, Wallace Stegner, Robert Penn Warren

The Year in Literature: 

  • A Fable also won the Pulitzer Prize for fiction.
  • Halldór Laxness won the Nobel Prize for literature.

More Information: Steinbeck was a Fiction Finalist one other time, in 1953 for East of Eden. He never won the National Book Award.

PrintView Printer Friendly Version

EmailEmail Article to Friend

« 1956 | Main | 1955 »