The Courts of Memory

By Frank Rooney

Original Publisher: Vanguard

Current Publisher: Out of Print

Fiction Finalists That Year:

Fiction Winner That Year: William Faulkner for A Fable

Fiction Judges That Year: Malcolm Cowley, Paul Engle, Elizabeth Janeway, Wallace Stegner, Robert Penn Warren

The Year in Literature: 

  • A Fable also won the Pulitzer Prize for fiction.
  • Halldór Laxness won the Nobel Prize for literature.

More Information: Rooney’s short story “The Cyclists’ Raid” was made into the 1953 film “The Wild One,” directed by László Benedek and starring Marlon Brando.

PrintView Printer Friendly Version

EmailEmail Article to Friend

« 1955 | Main | 1955 »