The Bad Seed

By William March

Original Publisher: Rinehart & Company

Current Publisher: Harper Perennial

Fiction Finalists That Year:

Fiction Winner That Year: William Faulkner for A Fable

Fiction Judges That Year: Malcolm Cowley, Paul Engle, Elizabeth Janeway, Wallace Stegner, Robert Penn Warren

The Year in Literature: 

  • A Fable also won the Pulitzer Prize for fiction.
  • Halldór Laxness won the Nobel Prize for literature.

More Information:

  • March died on May 15, 1954, one month after The Bad Seed was published. Therefore, the National Book Award nomination was bestowed posthumously.
  • The novel was adapted into a successful Broadway play by Maxwell Anderson and an Academy Award-nominated film directed by Mervyn LeRoy.

PrintView Printer Friendly Version

EmailEmail Article to Friend

« 1955 | Main | 1955 »