Monday, June 4, 2012 at 2:37PM
National Book Foundation

Pictures from an Institution

By Randall Jarrell

Original Publisher: Alfred A. Knopf

Current Publisher: University of Chicago Press

Fiction Finalists That Year:

Fiction Winner That Year: William Faulkner for A Fable

Fiction Judges That Year: Malcolm Cowley, Paul Engle, Elizabeth Janeway, Wallace Stegner, Robert Penn Warren

The Year in Literature: 

More Information: Jarrell won the National Book Award for Poetry in 1961 for The Woman at the Washington Zoo, and was a Poetry Finalist three other times: in 1952 for The Seven-League Crutches, in 1956 for Selected Poems, and in 1966 for The Lost World. This was his only Fiction nomination.

Links: nbapoetryblog.squarespace.com/journal/2011/3/1/1961.html

Article originally appeared on National Book Award Fiction Finalists (http://nbafictionfinalists.squarespace.com/).
See website for complete article licensing information.