The Night of the Hunter

By Davis Grubb

Original Publisher: Harper & Brothers

Current Publisher: Out of Print

Fiction Finalists That Year:

Fiction Winner That Year: William Faulkner for A Fable

Fiction Judges That Year: Malcolm Cowley, Paul Engle, Elizabeth Janeway, Wallace Stegner, Robert Penn Warren

The Year in Literature: 

  • A Fable also won the Pulitzer Prize for fiction.
  • Halldór Laxness won the Nobel Prize for literature.

More Information:

  • The plot was based on the true story of Harry Powers, who was hanged in 1932 for the murders of two widows and three children in Moundsville, West Virginia.
  • Also in 1955, the novel was made into a film of the same title directed by Charles Laughton and starring Robert Mitchum and Shelley Winters.

PrintView Printer Friendly Version

EmailEmail Article to Friend

« 1955 | Main | 1955 »