The View from Pompey’s Head

By Hamilton Basso

Original Publisher: Doubleday & Co.

Current Publisher: Transaction Large Print

Fiction Finalists That Year:

Fiction Winner That Year: William Faulkner for A Fable

Fiction Judges That Year: Malcolm Cowley, Paul Engle, Elizabeth Janeway, Wallace Stegner, Robert Penn Warren

The Year in Literature: 

  • A Fable also won the Pulitzer Prize for fiction.
  • Halldór Laxness won the Nobel Prize for literature.

More Information: 

  • The novel spent 40 weeks on the New York Times bestseller list.
  • Basso’s prequel to The View from Pompey’s Head, The Light Infantry Ball, was a Fiction Finalist in 1960.

PrintView Printer Friendly Version

EmailEmail Article to Friend

« 1955 | Main | 1955 »