The Build-Up

By William Carlos Williams

Original Publisher: Random House

Current Publisher: New Directions

Fiction Finalists That Year:

Fiction Winner That Year: Ralph Ellison for Invisible Man

Fiction Judges That Year: Saul Bellow, Martha Foley, Irving Howe, Howard Mumford Jones, Alfred Kazin

The Year in Literature:

  • The Old Man and the Sea by Ernest Hemingway won the Pulitzer Prize for fiction.
  • Winston Churchill won the Nobel Prize for literature.

More Information:

  • Williams was the first person to win the National Book Award for Poetry in 1950. He won for two books: Paterson: Book III and Selected Poems. He was a Finalist several more times, for both Poetry and Nonfiction.
  • The Build-Up was the final book in Williams’ Stecher trilogy, which also included White Mule and In the Money.

PrintView Printer Friendly Version

EmailEmail Article to Friend

« 1954 | Main | 1953 »