Monday, June 4, 2012 at 2:12PM
National Book Foundation

A Shower of Summer Days

By May Sarton

Original Publisher: Rinehart

Current Publisher: W.W. Norton & Company

Fiction Finalists That Year:

Fiction Winner That Year: Ralph Ellison for Invisible Man

Fiction Judges That Year: Saul Bellow, Martha Foley, Irving Howe, Howard Mumford Jones, Alfred Kazin

The Year in Literature:

More Information: Sarton was a Finalist three more times: in 1956 for Faithful Are the Wounds (Fiction) and twice in 1958 for The Birth of a Grandfather (Fiction) and In Time Like Air (Poetry).

Article originally appeared on National Book Award Fiction Finalists (http://nbafictionfinalists.squarespace.com/).
See website for complete article licensing information.