Monday, June 4, 2012 at 2:10PM
National Book Foundation

The Landsmen

By Peter Martin

Original Publisher: Little, Brown

Current Publisher: Out of Print

Fiction Finalists That Year:

Fiction Winner That Year: Ralph Ellison for Invisible Man

Fiction Judges That Year: Saul Bellow, Martha Foley, Irving Howe, Howard Mumford Jones, Alfred Kazin

The Year in Literature:

More Information: The Landsmen was the first volume of a trilogy, which Martin never completed. The second volume, The Building, was published in 1960. Martin died in 1961.

Article originally appeared on National Book Award Fiction Finalists (http://nbafictionfinalists.squarespace.com/).
See website for complete article licensing information.