Monday, June 4, 2012 at 1:58PM
National Book Foundation

The Gathering Darkness

By Thomas Gallagher

Original Publisher: Bobbs-Merrill

Current Publisher: Out of Print

Fiction Finalists That Year:

Fiction Winner That Year: Ralph Ellison for Invisible Man

Fiction Judges That Year: Saul Bellow, Martha Foley, Irving Howe, Howard Mumford Jones, Alfred Kazin

The Year in Literature:

More Information: The Gathering Darkness was Gallagher’s first novel.

Article originally appeared on National Book Award Fiction Finalists (http://nbafictionfinalists.squarespace.com/).
See website for complete article licensing information.