Monday, June 4, 2012 at 1:47PM
National Book Foundation

The Caine Mutiny

By Herman Wouk

Original Publisher: Doubleday & Co.

Current Publisher: Back Bay Books

Fiction Finalists That Year:

Fiction Winner That Year: James Jones for From Here to Eternity

Fiction Judges That Year: Robert Gorham Davis, Brendan Gill, Lloyd Morris, Budd Schulberg, Jean Stafford

The Year in Literature:

More Information: Wouk was a Fiction Finalist twice more: in 1956 for Marjorie Morningstar and in 1981 for War and Remembrance.

Article originally appeared on National Book Award Fiction Finalists (http://nbafictionfinalists.squarespace.com/).
See website for complete article licensing information.