The Caine Mutiny

By Herman Wouk

Original Publisher: Doubleday & Co.

Current Publisher: Back Bay Books

Fiction Finalists That Year:

Fiction Winner That Year: James Jones for From Here to Eternity

Fiction Judges That Year: Robert Gorham Davis, Brendan Gill, Lloyd Morris, Budd Schulberg, Jean Stafford

The Year in Literature:

  • The Caine Mutiny by Herman Wouk won the Pulitzer Prize for fiction.
  • François Mauriac won the Nobel Prize for literature.

More Information: Wouk was a Fiction Finalist twice more: in 1956 for Marjorie Morningstar and in 1981 for War and Remembrance.

PrintView Printer Friendly Version

EmailEmail Article to Friend

« 1953 | Main | 1952 »