The Lazarus Project

By Aleksandar Hemon

Original and Current Publisher: Riverhead

Fiction Finalists That Year:

  • Aleksandar Hemon for The Lazarus Project
  • Rachel Kushner for Telex from Cuba
  • Marilynne Robinson for Home
  • Salvatore Scibona for The End

Fiction Winner That Year: Peter Matthiessen for Shadow Country

Fiction Judges That Year: Gail Godwin, Rebecca Goldstein, Elinor Lipman, Reginald McKnight, Jess Walter

The Year in Literature:

  • The Brief Wondrous Life of Oscar Wao by Junot Díaz won the Pulitzer Prize for fiction.
  • Jean-Marie Gustave Le Clézio won the Nobel Prize for literature.

More Information:

  • The Lazarus Project was also a finalist for the National Book Critics Circle Award for fiction in 2008.
  • In 2011, Hemon received the PEN/W.G. Sebald Award for a Fiction Writer in Mid-Career.

Buy the Book:

PrintView Printer Friendly Version

EmailEmail Article to Friend

Reader Comments

There are no comments for this journal entry. To create a new comment, use the form below.

PostPost a New Comment

Enter your information below to add a new comment.

My response is on my own website »
Author Email (optional):
Author URL (optional):
All HTML will be escaped. Hyperlinks will be created for URLs automatically.
« 2008 | Main | 2007 »