Saturday, June 16, 2012 at 9:39PM
National Book Foundation

The March

By E.L. Doctorow

Original Publisher: Random House

Current Publisher: Random House Trade Paperbacks

Fiction Finalists That Year: 

Fiction Winner That Year: William T. Vollmann for Europe Central

Fiction Judges That Year: Andre Dubus III, Rikki Ducornet, Cristina García, Tom LeClair, Anna Quindlen

The Year in Literature:

More Information: E.L. Doctrow won the National Book Award for Fiction in 1986 for World’s Fair. He was also a Fiction Finalist three other times: in 1972 for The Book of Daniel, in 1982 for Loon Lake, and in 1989 for Billy Bathgate.

Links: www.nbafictionblog.org/nba-winning-books-blog/1986.html

Article originally appeared on National Book Award Fiction Finalists (http://nbafictionfinalists.squarespace.com/).
See website for complete article licensing information.