The March

By E.L. Doctorow

Original Publisher: Random House

Current Publisher: Random House Trade Paperbacks

Fiction Finalists That Year: 

Fiction Winner That Year: William T. Vollmann for Europe Central

Fiction Judges That Year: Andre Dubus III, Rikki Ducornet, Cristina García, Tom LeClair, Anna Quindlen

The Year in Literature:

  • Gilead by Marilynne Robinson won the Pulitzer Prize for fiction.
  • Harold Pinter won the Nobel Prize for literature.

More Information: E.L. Doctrow won the National Book Award for Fiction in 1986 for World’s Fair. He was also a Fiction Finalist three other times: in 1972 for The Book of Daniel, in 1982 for Loon Lake, and in 1989 for Billy Bathgate.


PrintView Printer Friendly Version

EmailEmail Article to Friend

Reader Comments

There are no comments for this journal entry. To create a new comment, use the form below.

PostPost a New Comment

Enter your information below to add a new comment.

My response is on my own website »
Author Email (optional):
Author URL (optional):
All HTML will be escaped. Hyperlinks will be created for URLs automatically.
« 2005 | Main | 2004 »