By Mary Gaitskill

Original Publisher: Pantheon

Current Publisher: Vintage

Fiction Finalists That Year: 

Fiction Winner That Year: William T. Vollmann for Europe Central

Fiction Judges That Year: Andre Dubus III, Rikki Ducornet, Cristina García, Tom LeClair, Anna Quindlen

The Year in Literature:

  • Gilead by Marilynne Robinson won the Pulitzer Prize for fiction.
  • Harold Pinter won the Nobel Prize for literature.

More Information: Gaitskill wrote an appreciation of Katherine Anne Porter’s Collected Stories for our National Book Awards Fiction Blog.


Buy the Book:


PrintView Printer Friendly Version

EmailEmail Article to Friend

Reader Comments

There are no comments for this journal entry. To create a new comment, use the form below.

PostPost a New Comment

Enter your information below to add a new comment.

My response is on my own website »
Author Email (optional):
Author URL (optional):
All HTML will be escaped. Hyperlinks will be created for URLs automatically.
« 2005 | Main | 2005 »