Saturday, June 16, 2012 at 8:47PM
National Book Foundation


By Joyce Carol Oates

Original and Current Publisher: Ecco Press

Fiction Finalists That Year:

Fiction Winner That Year: Susan Sontag for In America

Fiction Judges That Year: Ron Hansen, Breena Clarke, Chitra Banerjee Divakaruni, David Guterson, A.M. Homes

The Year in Literature: 

More Information: Oates won the National Book Award for Fiction in 1970 for them. She was also a Fiction Finalist four other times: in 1968 for A Garden of Earthly Delights, in 1969 for Expensive People, in 1972 for Wonderland, and in 1990 for Because It Is Bitter, and Because It Is My Heart.

Links: www.nbafictionblog.org/nba-winning-books-blog/1970.html

Article originally appeared on National Book Award Fiction Finalists (http://nbafictionfinalists.squarespace.com/).
See website for complete article licensing information.