By Joyce Carol Oates

Original and Current Publisher: Ecco Press

Fiction Finalists That Year:

Fiction Winner That Year: Susan Sontag for In America

Fiction Judges That Year: Ron Hansen, Breena Clarke, Chitra Banerjee Divakaruni, David Guterson, A.M. Homes

The Year in Literature: 

  • Interpreter of Maladies by Jhumpa Lahiri won the Pulitzer Prize for fiction. 
  • Gao Xingjian won the Nobel Prize for literature.

More Information: Oates won the National Book Award for Fiction in 1970 for them. She was also a Fiction Finalist four other times: in 1968 for A Garden of Earthly Delights, in 1969 for Expensive People, in 1972 for Wonderland, and in 1990 for Because It Is Bitter, and Because It Is My Heart.


PrintView Printer Friendly Version

EmailEmail Article to Friend

Reader Comments

There are no comments for this journal entry. To create a new comment, use the form below.

PostPost a New Comment

Enter your information below to add a new comment.

My response is on my own website »
Author Email (optional):
Author URL (optional):
All HTML will be escaped. Hyperlinks will be created for URLs automatically.
« 2000 | Main | 2000 »