Friday, June 15, 2012 at 10:40AM
National Book Foundation

The Diagnosis

By Alan Lightman

Original Publisher: Alfred A. Knopf

Current Publisher: Vintage

Fiction Finalists That Year:

Fiction Winner That Year: Susan Sontag for In America

Fiction Judges That Year: Ron Hansen, Breena Clarke, Chitra Banerjee Divakaruni, David Guterson, A.M. Homes

The Year in Literature: 

More Information: Lightman is both a physicist and a writer. He was the first professor at MIT to receive a joint appointment in the sciences and the humanities.

Article originally appeared on National Book Award Fiction Finalists (http://nbafictionfinalists.squarespace.com/).
See website for complete article licensing information.